Orpheus Britannicus: Solos, Duos & Trios

26 January 2024/18h00/ United Kingdom / Cambridge

Principal players of the acclaimed period instrument ensemble, Orpheus Britannicus, present a beautiful selection of chamber works by three giants of the Baroque: J.S. Bach, Handel & Telemann.

Full to the brim with sublime melody, intricate contrapuntal dialogue and harmonic depth, their programme offers a fascinating exploration of musical texture and includes two of J.S. Bach’s most innovative instrumental sonatas which feature the harpsichord in an equal partnering obligato role with the violin (BWV 1016) and viola da gamba (BWV 1027).
Theresa Caudle Violin
Henrik Persson Viola da Gamba
Andrew Arthur Harpsichord

Sonata in E major for Violin & Continuo, Op.1, no. 12, HWV 373 – G. F. Handel
Sonata in E major for Violin & Obligato Harpsichord, BWV 1016 – J.S. Bach
Prelude & Fugue in B minor for solo keyboard (from Book II of The Well-Tempered Clavier), BWV 869 – J.S. Bach 
Sonata in G major for Viola da Gamba & Obligato Harpsichord, BWV 1027 – J.S. Bach
Sonata in E major for Violin, Viola da gamba & Continuo, TWV 42:E7 – G.F. Telemann 
Orpheus Britannicus: Solos, Duos & Trios

See more